Day 16 – It’s Been Two Weeks Already?

The days are going fast. We’ve made it past the 2 week mark but to be honest it still isn’t easy. I’m not surrounded by sugar at home and yet my body still looks for it. You’d think it would be ‘out of mind out of sight’ but it’s so not the case for me!

They say it takes 21 days to break a habit but taking it that much further and extending it to a month safeguards your habit breaking and shows you that you can do it.

I really truly realise now how tough sugar is to break free from and how hard it must be for people to stop but i know it is possible because WE are doing it right now. It’s not easy and like with any habit you try to kick, you’ll struggle at first (or maybe for 16 days) and sometimes substitutes don’t always satisfy but you’ll get there! It IS possible.

Now here is a savoury snack, side or appetiser that my family love. It’s so simple and quick to prepare with easy to acquire ingredients and most of all – it’s delicious!

Bacon Wrapped Asparagus

Ingredients: 

10 strips of Bacon

10 pieces of Asparagus (stalks cut off) 

Salt and Pepper to taste

Method: 

  1. Wrap a piece of bacon around a piece of asparagus diagonally so it wraps evenly from top to bottom.
  2. Repeat until all slices are prepared.
  3. Grill on the stovetop until bacon is cooked through.
  4. Voila! So simple, and such a great appetiser, snack or as a side to a meal.

8705890de4a4f9bbdca6e8f7ae60794d--bacon-wrapped-asparagus-grilled-asparagus

WHAT I ATE: 

Meal 1: Protein Smoothie

Snack: Prosciutto and Truffle Cheese on Gluten Free Crackers

Meal 2: Chicken and Vegetable Curry

Snack: Nut and Seed Mix

Meal 3: Fish Stir Fry and Cabbage Salad

Total Cups of Water: 10  

 

DID YOU WORKOUT?: YES!

I did a full body circuit workout that targeted all areas with exercises such as: weighted squats, deadlifts, dumbbell rows, split squats, cable cross overs, sandbag plank drag, mountain-climbers-to-comando-roll-to-burpees, bicep-curls-to-shoulder-press, 500m row, etc. It was great! it lasted about 2 hours with breaks in-between.

How did YOUR sixteenth day go on the 30 Day Sugar Free Challenge? Let me know! Leave me a comment! And if you want to know or hear about anything else just drop me a message!

X

Lauren

3 Replies to “Day 16 – It’s Been Two Weeks Already?”

  1. It’s been 13 days for me
    It’s not easy … the struggle is real esp when eating out
    It is hard to look for no sugar added snacks readily available too
    The best bet is to prepare your own snacks & meals
    Unlike you I am surrounded by sugar at home and in the office so self discipline is key
    I plan to continue this after 30 days and make it a daily habit
    Thanks for the recipes!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m struggling girl. But 21 days is this Thursday and I know I can get there. Your food recipes have provided great ideas and food choices for me. I wish I can workout every day like you but it’s difficult when you work two jobs. I know it sounds like excuses but it’s tough when you have to decide between sleep or sweating out the calories. But my birthday is Sunday and I want my new year to be a healthy one. Just have to keep motivating and inspiring me Lauren! Thank you for caring about us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

